Nightshade by Andrea Cremer

Nightshade by Andrea Cremer
Release Date: October 19, 2010
Publisher: Philomel
Series: Nightshade
Goodreads | Amazon | The Book Depository

Calla Tor has always known her destiny: After graduating from the Mountain School, she’ll be the mate of sexy alpha wolf Ren Laroche and fight with him, side by side, ruling their pack and guarding sacred sites for the Keepers. But when she violates her masters’ laws by saving a beautiful human boy out for a hike, Calla begins to question her fate, her existence, and the very essence of the world she has known. By following her heart, she might lose everything - including her own life. Is forbidden love worth the ultimate sacrifice?

A new and unique take on a familiar subject!

Calla is a strong, determined and loyal alpha Guardian. Guardians protect the Keepers, a powerful group of what I'd called witches. She is very family oriented and her number one goal is to protect her pack, while leading the life that has been laid out for her by the Keepers until…

Shay. He's been living a vagabond life and consequently hasn't made any personal connections, even with his uncle. There's something special about him and Calla violates the Keepers' rules to save him and for the first time starts questioning those rules.

Nightshade was full of suspense from beginning to end. The Guardians are shapeshifters, but not like any I've read before. Some of their traits remind me of vampires. The Keepers are their government/masters/employer, who control them for their own good. They're to be obeyed and never questioned. I really got into the characters and the world they live in. The bad guys are creepy and romances complicated.

I think it will appeal to fans of The Wolves of Mercy Falls and The Twilight Saga.

No comments:

Post a Comment

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...